Author block

Matt Page's picture

Matt is an endurance nut who loves big rides and big events. Former full time racer and 24hr event specialist but now happy riding off-road on gravel bikes or XC mountain bikes and exploring the mountains and hills of Mid Wales.

8 comments

3 months 3 weeks ago

KoenM wrote:

KoenM wrote:

Again you haven't tried good once than, I have ridden in downpours, and I have walked in 20cm deep water and I have kept my feet dry and warm.

I have tried and tested many. Thank you.

KoenM's picture
3 months 3 weeks ago

mattpage wrote:

Again you haven't tried good once than, I have ridden in downpours, and I have walked in 20cm deep water and I have kept my feet dry and warm. If you just think about it logically it's just weird that you would think  overshoes are better. They have big holes underneath that aren't covered so where cold gets in much easier as does water. And it's also not as hard material as wintershoes so rain gets also in easier. I have had water in them once it was when I fell into a puddle sideways and couldn't get out my pedals fast enough so the water gushed over the sides of it. But I also had good socks so still wasn't cold. I use Northwave Raptor GTX by the way. Also you haven't tried every wintershoe I think so saying it's better than a wintershoe is not smart before you tried enough of them.

 

KoenM wrote:

 

"I'd choose these over any winter boot anyway."
Why? You say this but never say why that is, wintershoes are also waterproof and very warm and they last much longer! And I never had water in my wintershoes even in a downpour so maybe you had a bad experience (or none) with wintershoes!
If u put an opinion in a review you should also tell us why that is your opinion!

 

 

I have never used a winter boot that keeps water out. Rain gets in much, much easier than these and then your feet get cold far quicker.

 

3 months 3 weeks ago

On second thoughts, cold wet feet are not so bad....If you're that desperate buy a pair of £20 wellies and cut a hole in the bottom for your cleats = £100 saving!  

3 months 3 weeks ago

KoenM wrote:

"I'd choose these over any winter boot anyway."
Why? You say this but never say why that is, wintershoes are also waterproof and very warm and they last much longer! And I never had water in my wintershoes even in a downpour so maybe you had a bad experience (or none) with wintershoes!
If u put an opinion in a review you should also tell us why that is your opinion!

I have never used a winter boot that keeps water out. Rain gets in much, much easier than these and then your feet get cold far quicker.

3 months 3 weeks ago

Warm but not the solution. I too wore the paint off my new XT cranks so cleat movment is required. I had myself convinced they are wellies and would seal the shoe as they are hard to get on, but it is England, it is Winter and you come home with wet feet and sodden skin if you even walk on grass.. Would purchase again of they were £40, but dont be taken in by the price, these are not the solution.

3 months 3 weeks ago

I find it hard to believe at that price that you're not going to be better off with a pair of winter mtb boots and waterproof socks.  I'd certainly rather sink 120 notes on boots than overshoes.

3 months 3 weeks ago

KoenM wrote:

 

"I'd choose these over any winter boot anyway."
Why? You say this but never say why that is, wintershoes are also waterproof and very warm and they last much longer! And I never had water in my wintershoes even in a downpour so maybe you had a bad experience (or none) with wintershoes!
If u put an opinion in a review you should also tell us why that is your opinion!

 

Indeed. I wear Spatz Legalz (no zip and designed for the road);over Sidi goretex winter boots. What I also do differently is put my leg warmers OVER the Spatz, not under them. This stops any water from being sucked in by capillary action down your leg warmer. I have done 4hr+ rides in next to zero temps and my feet have remained warm and dry. They are brilliant. And I paid £60 for them, so half the price.

PP

KoenM's picture
3 months 3 weeks ago

"I'd choose these over any winter boot anyway."
Why? You say this but never say why that is, wintershoes are also waterproof and very warm and they last much longer! And I never had water in my wintershoes even in a downpour so maybe you had a bad experience (or none) with wintershoes!
If u put an opinion in a review you should also tell us why that is your opinion!

Add comment

Log in or register to post comments