LCP

Calliber Bossnut 3 for total beginners

MoutonDeMontagne

Hi All, and hopefully Rachel too since she did the tests!

I'm in the process of trying to buy a bike for my girlfriend, who, other than a couple of spins on various hired or borrowed bikes, is a total beginner but is keen to get riding more and prefers mountain bikes as she's not keen on traffic. I'd pretty much settled on the idea of something that was a hardtail, stable and confidence inspiring, 1x simplicity and not too heavy and thus probably not plus tyred. (something like the Whyte 802, Sonder Frontier etc). Then the review of the Bossnut 3 loomed into view while trawling through the 'Best Bike under £1500'. I was also hoping for the start at a reasonable price point with something thats easy to move on if she doesn't take to it, rather than start with a really budget clunker type bike. 

My question is this, how suitable is the Bossnut 3 for a total beginner? I'm aware of the 'start on a hardtail for technique' arguments but I'm more interested in how easy is it to ride on forrest trails/cindertracks etc, i.e. is it really draggy and heavy or is it a relatively efficient all day kind of bike? 

It's a bit tricky at the moment since it's impossible to demo anything, so all suggestions and opinions welcome.

Cheers!

3 comments

3 years 9 months ago